General Blog

Celebrating The Seven Sacraments in the Catholic Church


The Seven Sacraments are central rituals in the Catholic Church and other Christian traditions. People believe that they are outward signs of inward grace, which Christ instituted and entrusted to the Church. Our Catholic vocation calls us to receive these sacraments as a means of experiencing God’s grace. Types of Sacraments We categorize the sacraments into three groups. These groups are initiation, healing, and service of Communion. The initiation group includes Baptism, Confirmation, and Eucharist. The healing group consists of Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick. Lastly, the service of Communion group includes Marriage and Holy Orders. Baptism. Through the [...]

Celebrating The Seven Sacraments in the Catholic Church2024-02-04T20:25:58-05:00

What Is A Religious Abbey


For many Catholics, the distinction between an abbey and a monastery is somewhat unclear. What is an Abbey, exactly?  The dictionary defines the word “abbey “as the building or buildings occupied by a community of monks or nuns. In Christian spiritual contexts, this word primarily refers to a large monastery or convent. Abbeys are homes for men and women with a particular Catholic vocation; they are called to be monks and or nuns who live together, pray, work, and study according to their religious order's rules. The History of the Abbey Abbeys have a rich historical background and history. Monks began in [...]

What Is A Religious Abbey2024-02-04T20:00:24-05:00

How to Become a Priest


Discerning a  Catholic vocation to the priesthood begins with understanding the process of how to become a priest.  In general, a priest is a religious leader or figure typically associated with a particular faith or religious tradition. The role and responsibilities of priests can vary widely depending on the specific religious context. Here are some common types of priests found in different religious traditions. In the Catholic Faith there are several types of priests.  A diocesan priest is ordained to serve the faithful in a particular diocese.  An ordered priest is a member of a religious community and will serve [...]

How to Become a Priest2024-02-04T19:34:28-05:00

Advent: New Liturgical Year, New Beginnings and New Opportunities


Advent marks the new Liturgical Year; it is a time for new opportunities and new beginnings.  Today we are in the season of Advent Soon, on January 1st we will start a new calendar year too, 2024.  The New year will be marked by fireworks, champagne toasts, get togethers of friends and families, and warm embraces as the clock strikes midnight. Students involved in sports at their high schools will be ending cross country, football, and now flag football for girls. Boys and girls will be ending basketball and soccer. Boys and girls will now begin lacrosse, softball and swimming, [...]

Advent: New Liturgical Year, New Beginnings and New Opportunities2023-12-19T19:17:41-05:00

Abbot Domenic Rossi’s Vocation Story


Shalom World recently interviewed Abbot Domenic Rossi, O. Praem. about his vocation journey.  The video, which can be found by clicking here recounts his early calling to the priesthood and his journey as a Norbertine priest. Abbot Domenic reflects on that initial calling.  He recalled a dream as a young child and hearing God's invitation. "I am calling you, even though you may not think you're worth." "God speaks to us in whispers," Abbot Domenic observed. He recalled a TV commercial where the character kept asking, "Can you hear me."  Abbot Domenic noted that "God is always calling."  But, that [...]

Abbot Domenic Rossi’s Vocation Story2023-12-11T12:58:26-05:00

Advent: We Begin The New Liturgical Year


The new Liturgical year is about to begin! This Sunday, December 3, the Catholic Church begins their new liturgical year. The priests’ vestments will now be purple, although on the third Sunday of Advent, Gaudete Sunday some priests may wear pink vestments. Also, for the lectionary cycle, we will move into Year B, with the Gospels from Mark, and year 1 for the weekday readings. Advent wreaths are an important symbol for Advent. Four candles are on an Advent wreath, three purple and a pink candle representing hope, peace, joy, and love. The wreath leads us to Christmas Eve and Christmas. [...]

Advent: We Begin The New Liturgical Year2023-12-02T08:48:45-05:00

Thanksgiving Holiday We remember and Give Thanks


Thanksgiving is a traditional holiday celebrated primarily in the United States and Canada. Americans here in the United States celebrate Thanksgiving on the fourth Thursday of November. Canadians celebrate the holiday on the second Monday of October. So, this year here in the United States, we Americans will celebrate the holiday on Thursday, November 23rd. The holiday started in the 1600s when pilgrims had arrived aboard the Mayflower as part of the Mayflower Compact. Members of the Plymouth colony gathered around Cape Cod near Plymouth, Massachusetts. On this Plymouth plantation, the Native Peoples had planted corn and celebrated a good [...]

Thanksgiving Holiday We remember and Give Thanks2023-12-14T10:08:48-05:00

Quo Vadis – Where Are You Going?


"Quo Vadis" is a Latin phrase that in English means "Where are you going?" "Quo Vadis" is also the name of a novel written by Polish author Henryk Sienkiewicz, first published in 1895. The book sets its story in ancient Rome, during Emperor Nero's reign. Today, we live in a world of people searching… questioning and wondering… Where am I going?  Quo Vadis is a universal call to introspection, reflection and discernment. But it is also a unique and personal question God asks of us.  The answer is our vocation… the person God is calling us to be. Today, younger [...]

Quo Vadis – Where Are You Going?2023-11-08T15:54:21-05:00

National Vocation Awareness Week


National Vocations Awareness Week is a time of reflection, gratitude, and celebration within the Daylesford Abbey community. This annual event holds a special place in the hearts of both the priests and the faithful who gather to honor the diverse callings that lead individuals to serve God in religious life. The Heart of Daylesford Abbey Founded in 1953, Daylesford Abbey is a Norbertine community located in the serene countryside of Pennsylvania. Rooted in the teachings of St. Norbert, the Abbey provides a spiritual haven for men and the broader community seeking solace, contemplation, and guidance. Communio is at the heart [...]

National Vocation Awareness Week2023-11-07T09:16:12-05:00

Autumn is a Time of Dying and Rising


Autumn is a time of change. It is a season of dying and rising.  In autumn, we see beautiful fall colors as leaves decline, change and fall to the ground. Autumn leaves symbolize the flow of energy, change, transition, and renewal in forests and people. The leaves vividly illustrate forest ecosystems, and how living organisms change. Terrestrial ecosystems and even aquatic ecosystems are an extended metaphor that illustrate the biotic component of change.  Plants, animals, and people, as well as the autumn leaves, experience much change and transition in their lives. As the ecosystems, including the physical environment changes, so [...]

Autumn is a Time of Dying and Rising2023-10-31T11:33:43-04:00


Go to Top